終生致力打擊動物測試

Lush 道德原則

自 Lush嵐舒開設第一家門市以來,我們一直致力打擊動物測試,直到今天仍然堅持實行。動物測試是一項可悲的科學,而且其測試結果亦跟人類無關。

相反,我們會以人體測試產品,透過招募志願者來為產品進行安全及效能測試。我們也會採用體外實驗 (in vitro test),藉由培植的人工細胞和微生物學來測試產品。

我們的道德核心

Lush 不會對動物進行測試,也不會使用從動物身上衍生而來的非素食成分,同時亦只會向正在實踐或承諾未來不進行動物測試的供應商採購原材料。我們認為動物測試是不能接受的行為。我們明白產品的安全性對顧客甚為重要,不過在無需使用動物測試的情況下亦已能確保其安全性。

我們自 2007 年 6 月 1 日起已明確終止向進行、委託或參與動物測試的供應商購買原材料,除非對方承諾將來不再進行任何動物測試,並轉用 Lush 接納的體外實驗(指在生物活體以外進行實驗的技術)。

儘管我們知道不可避免有可能涉及動物測試的《關於化學品註冊、評估、許可和限制法案》(REACH,Registration, Evaluation, Authorization, and Restriction of Chemicals) 鑒定方法,但也希望繼續鼓勵供應商採用非動物測試方式,亦會向這些零殘忍測試方式提供研發資助。

Lush 自成立以來已建立此政策,我們相信及藉此證明在不涉及動物測試的情況下,都能研發、製作和推售各式各樣的產品。公司的創辦人早於 1993 年 6 月開始實行這項政策,而當時仍在經營前公司 Cosmetics To Go。當他們在 1995 年創立 Lush 時,打擊動物測試政策亦隨之開始執行,往後至今一直堅守不移。

0%

的產品採用人體測試,而非動物測試

Sti持續打擊動物測試

多年來,我們對打擊這個不科學且殘忍做法的決心和力量從未減退,意味著「打擊動物測試」不僅是品牌的立場和政策,更是我們的終生目標和核心價值。Lush 會繼續在全球推廣打擊動物測試,包括向大眾提倡終止動物測試、與愛護動物的運動組織一起推廣和宣揚訊息、遊說各方停止利用動物進行測試,以及教育大眾認識這項議題。我們一直堅持下去,直到動物測試成為歷史。

Lush 作出打擊動物測試的承諾,亦意味著我們的立場及政策能夠規範公司的營運,從而確保在業務裡不會涉及動物測試,同時有助將終止動物測試的訊息推廣至全球。

瀏覽以下連結,了解 Lush 各項為動物福利而實踐的工作。

取代動物測試的方法

Lush 致力打擊動物測試,並以人體進行產品測試;我們也與細胞培養測試公司 XCellR8 合作,一起研發體外實驗 (in vitro) 測試方式。

我們終於成功研發各項替代測試,並獲得經濟合作與發展組織 (OECD) 的認可。這意味著目前美容行業仍然依賴並經由動物測試而得的數據,將會最終被與人類相關的數據所取代。我們花了很多心血去認證不同的非動物測試方法,並過監管認證獲批使用;然而,這些經過多番努力研究而成的測試方法仍未被業界大力採用。

在 2013 年,一間名為「XCellR8」的細胞培養測試公司獲得了「Lush 打擊動物測試大獎」的培訓獎,並開始針對 Lush 的產品和原材料來改良及研發相關的細胞培養測試。這意味著我們可以以知識和經驗作為基礎,開始建立取代動物測試的新測試方法,從而令更多公司和官方部門放棄採用動物測試。

在 Lush,我們選用各式各樣相對簡單的成分來製作產品,也知道這些原材料均安全使用。用於人體身上的產品和原材料會進行細胞培養測試,而測試過程亦只會在人體身上進行。

各種取代動物測試的方法已供選擇!

REACH —《關於化學品註冊、評估、許可和限制法案》

REACH 是一項管理歐洲範圍內進口和製造化學品的法規,而在某些條件下會要求受管單位進行動物測試。此條件喚起了動物保護組織,以及那些致力遵守非動物測試政策的公司的關注。

REACH 法規的訂立是歐盟通過的最大立法,其內容細則非常複雜,以至於在立法後仍未能清晰地實施。這是一項不斷演變的法規,也是我們就非動物測試政策對外界施加壓力的一個例子。

參考內容

延伸閱讀  →

遷徙的自由

0:00

Fighting a life-long campaign against the use of animals in testing

Lush Ethics

We have been fighting against animal testing since before we opened our first shop, and the fight continues today. Animal testing is poor science and its results are irrelevant for humans.

Instead, we test our products for safety and effectiveness on human volunteers - real people. We also use in vitro test methods, using human cell-cultures and microbiology.

Our Core Ethic

Lush do not test on animals, do not use materials that contain animal derivatives that are unsuitable for vegetarians and only buy raw materials from companies that are not involved in the use of, or commission the use of, animals for testing and have no plans to do so in the future. We believe that animal testing is not acceptable. We recognise that customer safety is of importance but that this can be assured without the use of animals.

We will not knowingly purchase ingredients from suppliers that have conducted, commissioned or been party to animal testing after our fixed cut-off date 1st June 2007 unless the supplier commits to no further animal test in the future and using for Lush acceptable in-vitro (refers to the technique of performing a given procedure in a controlled environment outside of a living organism) alternatives.

Whilst we recognise the unavoidable exception of REACH legislation (Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation & Restriction of Chemicals), Lush wishes to continue to encourage suppliers to test for safety using non-animal testing methods and to fund the development of non-animal test methods.

We have built Lush from day one using this policy – and we believe this shows that it is possible to invent, manufacture and bring to the market an entire range of products without any involvement in animal testing. Our founders launched this policy in June 1993, whilst still running their previous company, Cosmetics To Go. So when they started Lush in 1995, it began life using this policy and has stuck to it ever since.

100%

of products tested on Humans, not animals

Still Fighting Animal Testing

The strength of feeling against this unscientific and cruel practice has not diminished over the years, which means that it is safe to say that Fighting Animal Testing is not just a Lush position and policy, but is a lifetime goal and the core value of our company. Lush will continue to fight animal testing worldwide – to speak out against it, to join with animal campaign groups to publicise it, to lobby against it and to educate around the issues – until animal testing is a thing of the past.

Our Fighting Animal Testing commitment means that Lush has a variety of positions and policies that both govern our own actions, to ensure that our business practices are free of animal testing, and reach out to the wider world to help eliminate the use of animals in testing worldwide.

To see the various ways we work for animals, please follow the links below for more information.

Alternatives to Animal testing

Campaigning against animal testing, trialling products on people and developing in vitro testing methods in line with cell culture testing company XCellR8.

Finally, we have reached a point where some alternative tests are recognised by The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).  This will mean that all the historical data that is derived from animal testing, and still relied upon by cosmetic companies, can eventually be replaced by data that is relevant to humans. Investigation into the hard work being done to get non-animal testing methods validated and approved for regulatory use, shows that although there are those striving to achieve this, there are still not enough companies using these methods.

In 2013, a cell culture testing company called XCellR8 won the Lush Prize for Training and began modifying and developing cell culture tests for both Lush products and raw materials. This will mean we can start to build that foundation of knowledge and experience in alternative testing that needs to exist in order to get more companies and authorities to drop the need for animal tests altogether.

Here at Lush, we use a range of relatively simple ingredients to make our products. We know our ingredients to be safe, however cell culture testing means that products and ingredients which are intended for humans, are actually tested on humans.

Alternatives to animal testing are available

REACH

REACH is European chemical legislation that governs the import and manufacture of chemicals within Europe.  REACH mandates animal testing in certain conditions, so is of concern to all animal campaign groups and also to companies which strive to adhere to an animal testing free policy.

The REACH legislation was the largest piece of legislation passed by the EU and so complicated that even after it was law it was not clear how it would be implemented.  It is an evolving piece of legislation and an example of an external pressure on our non animal testing policy.

Further reading  →

Freedom of movement